ESU to Honor Four University Faculty Authors at Ninth Annual Reception

Posted by: admin on October 25, 2013, No Comments

Four East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania faculty members will be recognized at the institution’s ninth annual University Authors’ Reception on Tuesday, November 12. The yearly event is designed to honor university authors whose books were published during the preceding year. This year’s honorees either authored or edited books in 2012.  The reception will be from 4 to 6 p.m. on the second floor of the Kemp Library and is open to the public at no cost.

The names of the authors and co-editors and their book titles are: Jane E. Huffman, Ph.D., distinguished professor of biological sciences, Wildlife Forensics: Methods and Applications (Wiley Blackwell); Heon Kim, Ph.D., assistant professor of philosophy & religious studies, Making Peace In and With the World: The Gülen Movement and Eco-Justice (Cambridge Scholars Publishing); Fred Misurella, Ph.D., professor of English, Only Sons (Bordighera Press); and Maureen McLaughlin, Ed.D., professor of reading, Guided Comprehension for English Learners (International Reading Association).

Copies of books written or edited by 2013 honorees will be permanently displayed in book cases on the second floor of Kemp Library along with the books of ESU authors honored at previous receptions. 

The program will include welcoming comments from Edward Owusu-Ansah, Ph.D., dean of the library and university collections and interim dean of the graduate college, congratulatory remarks by Van Reidhead, Ph.D., provost and vice president for academic affairs, and presentation of honorees by University President Marcia Welsh, Ph.D. Light refreshments will be served immediately following the brief ceremony.

Members of the University Authors’ Reception committee are: Owusu-Ansah, Ph.D., dean of the library and university collections and interim dean of the graduate college,  and co-chair; Leslie Berger assistant professor, librarian, and co-chair; Alberto Cardelle, Ph.D., interim dean of the college of health sciences; Robert Fleischman, Ed.D., interim dean of the college of business and management; Brenda Friday, Ph.D., director of university relations; Maureen McLaughlin, Ed.D., professor and chair of reading; Elaine Shuey, Ph.D., professor and chair of speech-language pathology; Miguel Barbosa, chief of staff; Michael Southwell, assistant provost, and Linda Van Meter, assistant professor and psychologist of counseling and psychological services.

For more information about ESU’s University Authors Reception, contact Leslie Berger at 570-422-3597 or